Skip to content

Consortium partners

We are a cross-national consortium composed of two research organisations, The French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) and Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ); Two academic institutions, Palacký University Olomouc (UPOL) and Eindhoven University of Technology (TUE); and two SMEs, INsociety (IN) and Sony CSL Paris (SONY).

To reliably retrieve and exploit kinetic data on photosynthesis regulation, our consortium benefits from world-wide recognized complementary expertise in:


  1. Analyzing complex photoactive systems in the frequency domain either for fluorescence bioimaging (CNRS) or for interrogating photosynthetic organisms (UPOL), constantly improving first-of-a-kind prototypes – a key to define the DREAM vision;
  2. Optics (CNRS) and data-science (SONY), which are crucial to build the DREAM prototypes;
  3. Biophysics and physiology of microalgae (CNRS) and higher plants (FZJ) – for optimal choice of the systems and relevant interpretations of their photosynthetic behavior;
  4. Theory, from data-based – experiment design, system identification, system control, dynamical systems (TUE), and machine learning (SONY), to physical – structure-function-based kinetic photosynthesis models and their mechanistic reduction (UPOL) approaches – to reliably categorize and optimize the responses of algae and plants.


SONY further brings its pioneering experience in participative approaches to collecting data to feed semiotic systems and bootstrap citizen-based environmental monitoring.


Eventually IN brings expertise in technology transfer, startupping, and innovation management, and SONY adds its industrial channels. Hence our consortium is fully equipped to ensure widespread exploitation of the DREAM results, well-balanced between economic developments and open source participation of a wide community of end-users.


Ludovic Jullien
Project Coordinator

Forschungszentrum Jülich

Shizue Matsubara

Eindhoven University of Technology

Leyla Özkan

Palacký University Olomouc

Dusan Lazar


Peter Hanappe

In society: Shaping innovation


Laura Martinelli